Managed Care Information Center
Site Navigation:
E-mail a Friend
FREE E-Mail Newsletters
Subscribe to the leading management newsletters
Health Resources Online
* * *
Health Resources Publishing
* * *
Wellness Junction
* * *
Healthcare Intelligence Network
Contact MCIC

Managed Care Information Center
1913 Atlantic Ave., Suite F4
Manasquan, NJ  08736
(732) 292-1100
fax: (732) 292-1111

Home / News & IndustryManaged Care Insight and Analysis
Updated: Nov. 18, 2008
2008 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety And Quality Award Recipients Revealed

The National Quality Forum (NQF) and The Joint Commission revealed the 2008 recipients of the annual John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards. Honorees were selected in all four award categories.

This year’s awards also feature a new honorary award for individual achievement.

The honorees, by award category, are as follows:

Individual Achievement

  • Michael R. Cohen, R.Ph., M.S., Sc.D. – Institute for Safe Medication Practices, Huntington Valley, Pa.

      Cohen is being recognized for his life-long professional commitment to promoting safe medication use and a safe medication delivery system.

      He has routinely challenged legislators and regulators, practitioners, professional organizations and pharmaceutical manufacturers to recognize their responsibility to eliminate preventable morbidity and mortality due to medication errors.


  • The RAND Corporation and University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Medicine

      The RAND Corporation and the UCLA School of Medicine are being honored for the development of a comprehensive set of measures, known as the ACOVE (Assessing the Care of Vulnerable Elders) project, intended to assess and improve the medical care provided to vulnerable elderly patients. This assessment, which was developed as a joint project of RAND and Pfizer Inc., forms the basis for implementing tested interventions known to improve patient care and safety for older adults at increased risk of functional decline or death.

    Innovation In Patient Safety And Quality At The National Level

  • National Coordinating Council for Medication Error Reporting and Prevention, Rockville, Md.

      This organization is being recognized for its substantive body of work to promote medication error reporting and prevention through the broad dissemination of council work products.

      These products include the internationally recognized definition of a medication error and other standardized definitions.

      The council is comprised of representatives from 24 national organizations who have worked collaboratively over the last 10 years to accomplish the objectives of the council.

    Innovation In Patient Safety And Quality At The Local Level

  • Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Virginia, subsidiary of WellPoint Inc., Richmond, Va.

      This organization is being recognized for its development and implementation of performance-based reimbursement programs for Virginia hospitals, cardiologists and cardiac surgeons.

      These programs are known as the Quality-In-Sights: Hospital Incentive Program and Quality Physician Performance Program.

  • New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation (HHC), New York, N.Y.

      The organization is being honored for developing and implementing its transparency Website, known as HHC in Focus. HHC in Focus is designed to make performance data accessible and transparent to all patients and consumers, to demonstrate HHC’s willingness to be accountable for the care delivered throughout the system, and to foster a culture of continuous improvement.

    Honorary Award for Individual Achievement

  • Dr. Dennis S. O’Leary, president emeritus of The Joint Commission, will receive an honorary lifetime achievement award for his leadership in, and many contributions to, improving the safety and quality of healthcare provided in the United States. Dr. O’Leary, who led the Joint Commission for 21 years until his retirement in 2007, is credited with successfully transforming the accreditation process to focus on organization performance in the provision of patient care.

    This year’s awards will be presented on Oct. 16 at NQF’s Annual Policy Conference: Quality at the Crossroads in Arlington, Va.

    Addresses: National Quality Forum, 601 13th St. NW, Suite 500 North, Washington DC 20005; (202) 783-1300, The Joint Commission, One Renaissance Blvd., Oak Brook Terrace, IL 60181; (630) 792-5000,

  •   This article was taken from:
    Pay-For-Performance Reporter

    Free Trial Subscription

    Become a Subscriber

        Back to This Week's List of Articles

    "Managed Care Weekly Watch"
    Subscribe Here



    Top | Home

    Resource of the Month | Database of MCOs | Publications | News & Industry | Surveys & Research | Free Products | Advertising Arena | Inside MCIC | Managed Care Archives | | For Subscribers | Customer Service

    ©2008 The Managed Care Information Center